New Big D album slower, full of energy.

 

Being a huge fan of ska, for a while, I was eagerly gobbling up every scrap of it that I can get my hands on. One band that I’ve come to love is Big D and the Kids Table. And when I had seen that they had released their new album, Strictly Rude, on March 20th, I scurried off to emusic to download it.

It starts out sounding similar to previous Big D albums, with quick little ditties like “Steady Riot” and “Noise Complaint.” Except, as I listen on – what’s that? A slower, almost reggae-like sound soon emerges.  With “Deadpan Face” comes vocals reminiscent of chants.  From there it continues meandering down this path into 2-tone, reggae beats,   with slow, melodic, horns and reverb, culminating in the title track, “Strictly Rude”.  It then picks up with the politically-charged “Try Out Your Voice”, and the slow climb of “Hell on Earth,” peaking in a flurry of guitars.

Despite this flirtation with a new(ish) sound,  Strictly Rude is satisfying and worth picking up, especially for ska fans. A definite recommendation.

No comments yet

Leave a comment